Thursday, 30 December 2010

Sports : Malaysia are the AFF Suzuki Cup champions

Malaysia are the AFF Suzuki Cup champions

Thursday, December 30, 2010
Source: D5 Sports

Image © AFP
Malaysia's players and officials hold the AFF Suzuki 2010 trophy after defeating Indonesia during the final of in the AFF Suzuki Cup 2010 in Jakarta on December 29, 2010.

KUALA LUMPUR, (Bernama) - Malaysia beat Indonesia 4-2 on aggregate to lift AFF Suzuki Cup 2010 in the final at Bung Karno Stadium in Jakarta tonight.

The win is Malaysia's first in the AFF Suzuki Cup after 14 years.

Striker Mohd Safee Mohd Sali made good his promise when he scored in the 53rd min in front of Indonesian supporters which packed the stadium.

Malaysia arrived in Jakarta with a three goal cushion after trouncing Indonesia 3-0 in the first leg final at National Stadium in Bukit Jalil.

Profilic striker Safee also emerged as highest goalscorer with five goals.

Watched by 70,000 supporters, Malaysia and Indonesia started the game cautiously.

Goalkeeper Khairul Fahmi Che Mat's prowess was tested after referee Peter Daniel Green of Australia gifted Indonesia a penalty after the ball hit the hand of Mohd Sabre Mat Abu.

Indonesian skipper Firman Utina's weak low shot was saved by Khairul Fahmi. The first half ended goaless.

Malaysia drew first blood when Mohd Safee latched to a cross from Norshahrul Idlan Talaha to put "Harimau Malaya" 1-0 in the 53rd min.

Stung by the goal, Indonesia mounted several raids looking for the elusive equaliser.

They were rewarded when Mohammad Nasuha scored in the 71st min after Khairul Fahmi pushed out an attempt by Ahmad Bustomi.

Indonesia's second goal was gifted by Mohamad Muslim Ahmad whose header sailed into the Malaysian net in the 87th min.

Malaysia only made the AFF Cup final once, in 1996 when it was called Tiger Cup, losing 0-1 to Thailand.


MALAYSIA: Khairul Fahmi Che Mat (GK), Mohd Sabre Mat Abu, Mohd Asraruddin Putra Omar, Safiq Rahim (skipper), Norshahrul Idlan Talaha, Mohd Safee Mohd Sali, Amar Rohidan, S. Kunanlan, Mohamad Muslim Ahmad, Mohamad Ashari Samsudin, Mohamad Fadhli Mohd Shas.

INDONESIA: Markus Horison Rihihina (GK), Mohammad Nasuha, Zulkifly Syukur, Maman Abdurachman, Cristian Gerard Alfaro Gonzales, Arif Suyono, Firman Utina (skipper), Irfan Bachdim, Ahmad Bustomi, Muhammad Ridwan, Hamka Hamzah.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak declared Friday, Dec 31 as a public holiday to celebrate the success by the Malaysian football squad in
winning AFF Suzuki Cup tonight.


Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...